Boat, Snow & OHV's


~ OFF HIGHWAY VEHICLE RENEWALS BEGIN SEPTEMBER 1, 2016! ~

Boat Registration

                        Registration Application

Iowa boat owners register their vessel at the County Recorder’s Office. The operator must carry the registration certificate on board while operating the vessel. Registrations must be renewed every three years and are nontransferable. These can be acquired starting January 1st of the new registration cycle year and are valid for three years.  All Iowa registrations expire April 30th of the renewal year.  

Registration of a New or Transferred Boat


In order to register a vessel purchased in a private sale you must have the most recent registration, title if applicable, and a bill of sale to provide to the county recorder for transfer. If the seller doesn't provide you with both of these things, you cannot register the vessel without going through the bonding process.

Registration is not required for the following vessels:
 

  • Inflatable vessels that are 7 feet or less in length
  • Canoes and kayaks that are 13 feet or less in length and have no motor or sail
  • Vessels properly registered in another state and using Iowa waters for 60 days or less

OHV Registration

                               Registration Application
OHV (Off-highway Vehicle) Registration and DNR User Permits
Includes All-terrain Vehicles, Off-road Motorcycles, and Off-road Utility Vehicles

Recreational vehicle operators on public ice, designated public riding trails and areas, and DNR-designated OHV parks, including use in conjunction with a disabled hunting permit, must register their machines.  Machines ​registered in Iowa need only display their current registration decal and the operator must carry the registration certificate on board.  Machines registered in another state are required to also display a valid DNR User Permit in addition to displaying their current registration decal and the operator must carry the registration certificate on board. Registrations and user permits must be renewed annually and are nontransferable.  Both can be acquired starting September 1 each year and are valid for the remainder of the year plus the entire following calendar year.   

All Iowa registrations and DNR User Permits expire December 31 each calendar year.  A $5.00 penalty is added to the renewal cost for an expired Iowa registration.  There is no grace period.

Snowmobile Registration

                     Registration Application

Recreational operators on public ice and designated public riding trails must have their machines currently registered with either the DNR or another state if a nonresident.  Regardless of residency, machines must display a current registration decal and have the registration certificate on board.  ALL machines are also required to display a valid DNR User Permit.  

Registrations and DNR User Permits must be renewed annually and are nontransferable.  Both can be acquired starting September 1 each year and are valid for the remainder of the year plus the entire following calendar year.  

All Iowa registrations and DNR User Permits expire December 31.  A $5.00 penalty is added to the renewal cost for an expired Iowa registration.  There is no grace period.

Residents can obtain registrations and  renewals from a County Recorder Office.

State Conservation Officer for Muscatine County


Joe Fourdyce ~ 563-260-1223